The O'Brien Family Welcomes You
It was a family affair when Jake’s opened for business in 1949. John Jacobson and his brothers, Marty, Donald, Bob, and Bill, all dug clams and trapped lobsters in the waters surrounding Hull. Brother-in-law Bob Oliver also supplied lobsters from his own boat. The first cook at Jake’s was sister, Betty Oliver. Throughout the years, many nieces, nephews and cousins worked the fryers at Jake’s, and thus earned money for their college educations!
In the winter of 1984, the O’Brien family of Hull bought Jake’s from Dot. Jim, one of 7 children of Barbara and Ed, a graduate of the School of Hotel and Restaurant Management at UMass Amherst, took over the day to day operation of Jake’s in the summer of 1985.
In 2009 our new outdoor deck was added and the winter of 2010 saw our entire lounge and waiting area expanded for the convenience of our customers.
2017 marks our 69th year and we are as excited as ever to continue bringing the Jake's experience to our customers!